Edit Template

Types of Block Mountains

Block mountains are created when large areas are broken and displaced vertically. The uplifted block is called Horsts and the lowered blocks are called graben.

There are two basic types of block mountains:

  • Tilted block mountains have one steep side contrasted by a gentle slope on the other side.
  • Lifted block mountains have a flat top and extremely steep slopes.
Examples of block mountains –
Sierra Nevada Mountains, California, United States
Harz Mountains, Germany
Wasatch Mountains, Utah, United States
Vogelsberg Mountains, Germany
Tetons, Wyoming, United States
Jura Mountains, Switzerland and France
Sangre de Cristo Mountains, New Mexico and Colorado, United States
Vosges Mountains, France and Germany
Organ Mountains, New Mexico, United States

Block Mountains Examples in India

India is known for its diverse and varied topography, and there are several examples of block mountains in the country. Block mountains are formed when large sections of the Earth’s crust are uplifted along faults or fractures. Here are some examples of block mountains in India:

  • Aravalli Range: The Aravalli Range, stretching across the states of Rajasthan, Haryana, and Gujarat, is one of the oldest fold mountain systems in the world. It is formed by a series of block mountains and is known for its rich mineral resources.
  • Vindhya Range: The Vindhya Range, located in central India, is a complex mountain system that includes block mountains. It separates the Indo-Gangetic plains from the Deccan Plateau and is known for its scenic beauty.
  • Satpura Range: The Satpura Range, located in central India, is a series of block mountains that run parallel to the Vindhya Range. It is characterized by rugged terrain, deep valleys, and dense forests.
  • Eastern Ghats: The Eastern Ghats, running along the eastern coast of India, comprise several block mountains. They extend from Odisha in the north to Tamil Nadu in the south and are known for their scenic landscapes and waterfalls.
  • Western Ghats: The Western Ghats, also known as the Sahyadri Range, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and consists of several block mountains. They run parallel to the western coast of India and are famous for their biodiversity and lush green forests.
  • Dhauladhar Range: The Dhauladhar Range, located in the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh, is a part of the larger Himalayan mountain system. It consists of block mountains and is known for its snow-capped peaks, deep valleys, and scenic beauty.

Types of Block Mountains

Read Also : Plateau

Tap For Tech

Serious Aspirants

More Links
What's New
UPSC Study Material

Related Posts


IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.

Read more

Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved