State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Nuclear Suppliers Group


About the NSG

The Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) is a group of nuclear supplier countries that seeks to contribute to the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons through the implementation of two sets of Guidelines for nuclear exports and nuclear-related exports.

The NSG Guidelines also contain the so-called “Non-Proliferation Principle,” adopted in 1994, whereby a supplier, notwithstanding other provisions in the NSG Guidelines, authorises a transfer only when satisfied that the transfer would not contribute to the proliferation of nuclear weapons.

The Non-Proliferation Principle seeks to cover the rare but important cases where adherence to the NPT or to a Nuclear Weapon Free Zone Treaty (also known as the “Pelindaba Treaty”, established the nuclear-weapon-free zone on the African continent. It opened for signature on 12 April 1996 in Cairo, Egypt and entered into force on 15 July 2009.) may not by itself be a guarantee that a State will consistently share the objectives of the Treaty or that it will remain in compliance with its Treaty obligations.

IMPORTANT POINT: The formation of NSG was the response to India’s nuclear test in May 1974 and first met in November 1975.

The NSG Guidelines are consistent with, and complement, the various international, legally binding instruments in the field of nuclear non-proliferation.

These include the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America (Treaty of Tlatelolco), the South Pacific Nuclear-Free-Zone Treaty (Treaty of Rarotonga), the African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Pelindaba), the Treaty on the Southeast Asia Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone (Treaty of Bangkok), and the Central Asian Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Semipalatinsk).

The NSG Guidelines are implemented by each Participating Government (PG) in accordance with its national laws and practices.
Decisions on export applications are taken at the national level in accordance with national export licensing requirements.


There are currently 48 Participating Governments (PGs) of the NSG. The year of participation is in brackets.

Argentina (1994) Cyprus (2000) Ireland (1984) New Zealand (1994) South Africa (1995) 
Australia (1978)Czech Republic (1978*) Italy (1978)Norway (1989)Spain (1988)
Austria (1991)Denmark (1984)Japan (1974)Poland (1978)Sweden (1978)
Belarus (2000)Estonia (2004)Kazakhstan (2002)Portugal (1986)Switzerland (1978)
Belgium (1978)Finland (1980)Latvia (1997)Romania (1990)Türkiye (2000)
Brazil (1996)France (1974)Lithuania (2004)Rep. of Korea (1995)Ukraine (1996)
Bulgaria (1984)Germany (1974)Luxembourg (1984)Russia (1974)U.K. (1974)
Canada (1974)Greece (1984)Malta (2004)Serbia (2013)U.S. (1974)
China (2004)Hungary (1985)Mexico (2012)Slovakia (1978*) 
Croatia (2005)Iceland (2009)Netherlands (1978)Slovenia (2000) 

2022/2023 NSG Chair Country: Argentina
The European Commission and the Chair of the Zangger Committee participate as observers.


  • It aims to ensure that nuclear trade for peaceful purposes does not contribute to the proliferation of nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices, while not hindering international trade and cooperation in the nuclear field.
  • It facilitates the development of peaceful nuclear trade by providing the means whereby obligations to facilitate peaceful nuclear cooperation can be implemented in a manner consistent with international nuclear non-proliferation norms.


    Factors taken into account for participation include the following:

  • Be able to supply items (includes transit items) covered by the Guidelines;
  • Adhere to and act in accordance with the Guidelines;
  • Have in force a legally -based domestic export control system that gives effect to the commitment to act in accordance with the Guidelines;
  • Be a party to the NPT, the Treaties of Tlatelolco, Rarotonga, Pelindaba, Bangkok, or Semipalatinsk, or an equivalent international nuclear non-proliferation agreement, and in full compliance with the obligations of such agreement(s), and, as appropriate, have in force a full-scope safeguards agreement with the IAEA;
  • Be supportive of international efforts towards the non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction and of their delivery vehicles.

Benefits for the members

  • Timely information on nuclear matters.
  • Contributes by way of information.
  • They will have confirmed credentials.
  • They can act as an instrument of harmonization and coordination.
  • It is a part of a very transparent process.



Source Of the Article: NSG

Quick Enquiry

blog form

More Links
What's New

IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.

Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved