State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK) aims to enhance socio-economic infrastructure for minority communities, particularly in education, health, and skill development. This initiative aims to bridge the developmental gap between the national average and minority communities. Formerly known as the Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP), it has been restructured and renamed for more effective implementation since 2018.

Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP)

  • MsDP is a development scheme aimed at addressing the development deficits in Minority Concentration Districts (MCDs).
  • It was identified as a Core of the Core Scheme under the National Development Agenda by NITI Aayog.
  • Launched in 2008-09, it initially covered 90 MCDs with at least 25% minority population and below-national-average development parameters.
  • MCDs were identified based on census 2001 data.
  • The program continued during the 11th Five Year Plan.
  • In June 2013, MsDP was restructured for implementation during the 12th Five Year Plan, focusing on Minority Concentration Blocks (MCBs), Minority Concentration Towns (MCTs), and Clusters of Villages.
  • Currently operational in 27 States/UTs, MsDP aims to address developmental gaps by topping up existing Centrally Sponsored Schemes.
  • Projects include infrastructure for education, healthcare, housing, and other basic amenities.
  • MsDP also supports innovative projects not covered by existing schemes, funded with a ratio of 60:40 (or 90:10 for NE and Hilly States) between the Centre and States.
  • Examples of such projects include Sadbhav Mandap and Market sheds.

Beneficiaries of PMJVK

  • Minority communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 include Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis), and Jains.
  • The PMJVK aims to address development deficits in minority concentration areas.
  • These areas are identified based on substantial populations of notified minority communities according to the 2011 Census data.
  • The program covers Minority Concentration District Headquarters (MCD Hrs), Minority Concentration Blocks (MCBs), Minority Concentration Towns (MCTs), and Backward Clusters of Minority Concentration Villages (CoMCV).
  • It is implemented in 308 districts across 32 States/UTs, covering 1300 identified Minority Concentration Areas (MCAs).
  • The unit areas for implementation include 109 MCD Hqrs, 870 MCBs, and 321 MCTs.
  • The scheme is also extended to include five more States/UTs: Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Nagaland, Goa, and Pondicherry.
  • Additionally, 61 districts out of 115 Aspirational districts have been covered under PMJVK.
  • State-wise administrative districts and lists of area units (Districts Hqs, Blocks, and Towns) are specified for the remaining period of the 14th Finance Commission.

Areas identified by data of Census 2011

  • The PMJVK now includes Minority Concentration Districts Headquarters, in addition to Minority Concentration Blocks, Minority Concentration Towns, and clusters of minority concentration villages.
  • Five more States/UTs – Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Nagaland, Goa, and Pondicherry – have been included compared to MSDP.
  • All States/UTs previously covered under MsDP are now included under PMJVK.
  • PMJVK covers Minority Concentration Blocks (MCBs) and Minority Concentration Towns (MCTs) in 308 districts of 32 States.
  • The PMJVK area includes 109 Minority Concentration Districts Headquarters, 870 Minority Concentration Blocks, and 321 Minority Concentration Towns.
  • 80% of PMJVK resources are earmarked for projects related to education, health, and skill development.
  • 33 to 40% of resources are specifically allocated for women-centric projects.

Read Also: Performance Grading Index and PGI 2.0

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved