State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

22nd Law Commission of India

Retired High Court Chief Justice Rituraj Awasthi has been appointed as the chairperson of the 22nd law commission of India which was constituted in 2020.

Why in News?

Retired High Court Chief Justice Rituraj Awasthi has been appointed as the chairperson of the 22nd law commission of India which was constituted in 2020.

Read also:- Article 25 & 26 – Constitution of India

Evolution of Law Commission in India

The origin of the first Law Commission of India lies in the diverse and often conflicting laws. It prevails in the local regions and those administered by the East India Company. Which was granted royal charters and also conferred powers by the various Indian rulers to administer and oversee the conduct of the inhabitants in the local areas where the company exercised control.  

Read also:- Delimitation Commission

During this period of administration by the company, two sets of laws operated in the areas; one which applied to and in relation to British citizens and the second which applied to the local inhabitants and aliens.

This was considered as a major stumbling block for proper administration by the British government during the times which is now known as the British Raj.

In order to improve the law-and-order situation and also to ensure uniformity of legal administration, various options were looked for. Until then the British government had been passing various enactments to deal with particular situations.

Such as the Prohibition of Sati in (1829) by Lord William Bentinck under the influence of Raja Ram Mohan Roy.

Read also:- 16th Finance Commission in 2023, to suggest Centre-state tax disbursement

However, it was for the first time in (1833) that the idea to establish a Law Commission for a comprehensive examination of the existing legal system prevailing in the British administered areas and its overhaul was instituted.

Read also:- Article 25 & 26 – Constitution of India

What is the Law Commission of India?


The Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body constituted by the Government of India from time to time.

The first Law Commission of independent India was established in 1955 for a three-year term.

The first Law Commission was established during the British Raj era in 1834 by the Charter Act of 1833 and was chaired by Lord Macaulay.

Read also:- International Law


It works as an advisory body to the Ministry of Law and Justice.

The Law Commission undertakes research in law and review of existing laws in India for making reforms therein and enacting new legislations on a reference made to it by the Central Government or suo-motu.


Apart from having a full-time chairperson, the commission will have four full-time members, including a member-secretary.

Law and Legislative Secretaries in the Law Ministry will be the ex-officio members of the commission.

It will also have not more than five part-time members.

A retired Supreme Court judge or Chief Justice of a High Court will head the Commission.

Read also:- The Decline Of The Mughal Empire

22nd Law Commission of India,22nd Law Commission of India

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved