State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Tiger Corridors in India

The National Tiger Conservation Authority in collaboration with the Wildlife Institute of India has mapped out 32 major.....

The National Tiger Conservation Authority in collaboration with the Wildlife Institute of India has mapped out 32 major tiger corridors in India.

  • These are operationalized through a Tiger Conservation Plan, mandated under section 38V of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972.
  • A tiger corridor is a stretch of land linking tiger habitats, allowing movement of tigers, prey and other wildlife. Without corridors tiger habitat can become fragmented and tiger populations isolated leaving the tigers vulnerable to localized extinction. Corridors are used by other wildlife also.
  • The corridors across states are important as big cats travel long distances. Tiger travels 1,300 km in 150 days, crossing Maharashtra, Telangana, six districts, and four wildlife sanctuaries to establish its territory.
  • Section 38 O (1) (g) permits tiger corridor diversion with National Board for Wildlife and National Tiger Conservation Authority approval.
  • Further, Section 38 V (3) (b) of the said Act, provides for the tiger conservation plan to ensure ecologically compatible land uses in areas linking one protected areas or tiger reserve with another for addressing the livelihood concerns of local people, so as to provide dispersal habitats and corridor for spill over population of wild animal from the designated core areas of tiger reserves or from tiger breeding habitats with other protected areas.

What is need of conservation of Tiger corridors?

  • It is vital for the long-term survival and viability of tigers
  • Corridors are under threat from development projects. 
  • Greatest threat: Road and railway expansion causing corridor fragmentation, leading to tiger mortality and human-animal conflicts.
  • India’s 2018 tiger estimation revealed 2,967 tigers, necessitating corridor mapping for enhanced conservation as they venture outside protected areas.
  • Need to sensitize villagers along these corridors about conservation of wildlife.

Where are all these corridors located?

  • The list of tiger corridors includes three across Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh bordering Nepal in Shivalik Hills and Gangetic Plains.
  • As many as 11 of them are across Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha, and Andhra Pradesh. Eight corridors in Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and 10 in Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, and West Bengal.


LandscapeCorridorStates/ Country
Shivalik Hills & Gangetic Plains(i) Rajaji-CorbettUttarakhand
(ii) Corbett-DudhwaUttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Nepal
(iii) Dudhwa-Kishanpur KaterniaghatUttar Pradesh, Nepal
Central India & Eastern Ghats(i) Ranthambhore-Kuno-MadhavMadhya Pradesh, Rajasthan
(ii) Bandhavgarh-AchanakmarMadhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
(iii) Bandhavgarh-Sanjay Dubri-Guru GhasidasMadhya Pradesh
(iv) Guru Ghasidas-Palamau-Law alongChhattisgarh & Jharkhand
(v) Kanha-AchanakmarMadhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
(vi) Kanha-PenchMadhya Pradesh, Maharashtra
(vii) Pench-Satpura-MelghatMadhya Pradesh, Maharashtra
(viii) Kanha-Navegaon Nagzira-Tadoba-IndravatiMadhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh
(ix) Indravati-Udanti Sitanadi-SunabedaChhattisgarh, Odisha
(x) Similipal-SatkosiaOdisha
(xi) Nagarjunasagar-Sri Venkateshwara National ParkAndhra Pradesh
Western Ghats(i) Sahyadri-Radhanagari-GoaMaharashtra, Goa
(ii) Dandeli Anshi-Shravathi ValleyKarnataka
(iii) Kudremukh-BhadraKarnataka
(iv) Nagarahole-Pusphagiri-TalakaveryKarnataka
(v) Nagarahole-Bandipur-Mudumalai-WayanadKarnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu
(vi) Nagarahole-Mudumalai-WayanadKarnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu
(vii) Parambikulam-Eranikulam-Indira GandhiKerala, Tamil Nadu
(viii) Kalakad Mundanthurai-PeriyarKerala, Tamil Nadu
North East(i) Kaziranga-Itanagar WLSAssam, Arunachal Pradesh
(ii) Kaziranga-Karbi AnglongAssam
(iii) Kaziranga-NameriAssam
(iv) Kaziranga-OrangAssam
(v) Kaziranga-Papum PaneAssam
(vi) Manas-BuxaAssam, West Bengal, Bhutan
(vii) Pakke-Nameri-Sonai Rupai-ManasArunachal Pradesh, Assam
(viii) Dibru Saikhowa-D’Ering-MehaongAssam, Arunachal Pradesh
(ix) Kamlang-Kane-Tale ValleyArunachal Pradesh
(x) Buxa-JaldaparaWest Bengal

Read Also : Biosphere Reserve

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved