State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template



Haryana Public Service Commission (HPSC) – Pattern

Nature of Examination

The Haryana Civil Services (HCS) exam is conducted by the Haryana Public Service Commission in three phases. The nature of all the three stages is different to test the seriousness, maturity and ability of the contestant.

  • Stage I : Preliminary Examination (Objective Nature)
  • Stage II : Main Examination (Written/Descriptive Nature)
  • Stage III : Interview (Verbal Nature)
Preliminary Exam Process
  • The preliminary exam is conducted on the same day. This examination is conducted on the date fixed by the commission at various examination centers in the state.
    • This exam consists of two compulsory papers ‘General Studies-I’ and ‘Civil Service Aptitude Test’ (CSAT). Therefore, the examination is also organized in two shifts of two hours each. There is a gap of 3 hours between the two shifts.
    • The purpose of this examination is to shortlist the candidates for the main examination.
    • The final selection list is prepared on the basis of marks obtained in the main examination and interview only.
  • The cut-off in the preliminary examination is determined on the basis of marks obtained in the first paper ‘General Studies’, while the second paper ‘CSAT’ is of qualifying nature.
    • It is mandatory to obtain 33% qualifying marks for the second paper.
    • It is to be noted that there is a provision of one-fourth (1/4) negative marking for every wrong answer in this examination.
Main Examination Process
  • The HPSC HCS Mains Exam pattern includes 4 papers, namely:
    • Paper I: English (including English essay) of 3 Hours and 100 marks.
    • Paper II: Hindi (including Hindi essay in Devanagari script) of 3 Hours duration and 100 marks.
    • Paper III: General Studies of 3 hours duration and 200 marks
    • Paper IV: Optional Subject of 3 hour duration and 200 marks.
Interview/Personality Test
  • After the main examination, Candidates thrice (three times) the number of advertised posts including bracketed candidates, if any, in order of merit in the main written examination will be called for Personality Test (Viva-voce) which is of 75 marks.
  • Finally, a total of 675 marks are considered while preparing the final merit list.
More Links
News of the day
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved