State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Schemes under Ministry of Rural Development

Rural Development

Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA) 2005

  • Established as a social initiative, the scheme ensures “the right to work“.
  • The Ministry of Rural Development collaborates with state governments to oversee its implementation.
  • Approval of the work roster under MGNREGA and determination of priorities rest with the Gram Sabha and the Gram Panchayat.
  • Mandatory social audits of MGNREGA projects promote accountability and transparency.
  • In the fiscal year 2021-22, the scheme provided employment to 2.95 crore individuals, resulting in the completion of 5.98 lakh assets and the generation of 34.56 crore person-days.

Deen Dayal Antyodaya Yojana – National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM)

  • The Ministry of Rural Development launched this centrally sponsored program in June 2011.
  • Aims to eradicate rural poverty by facilitating various livelihood opportunities and enhancing rural households access to financial services nationwide.
  • In FY 2021, women Self-Help Groups (SHGs) received approximately Rs.56 Crore through Revolving Fund and Community Investment Fund. This is a significant increase from approximately Rs. 32 Crore disbursed in the corresponding period of FY 2020.
  • Offers training sessions covering both agricultural and non-agricultural livelihoods, alongside education on COVID-19 management.
  • Encourages and supports the establishment of Agri-Nutri gardens to promote nutrition and agriculture simultaneously.

Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY)

  • The aim is to establish all-weather road connectivity to previously isolated habitations.
  • In plain areas, targeted habitations have a population size of 500 or more, while in North-Eastern States, Himalayan States, Deserts, and Tribal Areas, it’s 250 or more, based on the 2001 census.
  • Integration of these habitations into the core network is essential for enhancing the socio-economic well-being of rural communities.
  • In the last three years, PMGSY has built more roads than ever before, boosting rural connectivity efforts massively.

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana – Gramin

  • The government revamped the rural housing scheme Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY) into Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana-Gramin (PMAY-G) from April 1, 2016, aiming to achieve the goal of “Housing for All” by 2022.
  • PMAY-G aims to assist rural individuals below the poverty line (BPL) in constructing new dwelling units and upgrading existing kutcha houses by providing full grant assistance.
  • Priority is given to specific groups such as SCs/STs, freed bonded laborers, widows, next-of-kin of defense personnel killed in action, ex-servicemen, retired members of paramilitary forces, disabled persons, and minorities.
  • Beneficiary selection is based on data from the Socio-Economic Caste Census (SECC) of 2011.
  • The expenditure for PMAY-G witnessed a significant increase, reaching Rs. 5854 Cr in FY 2021-22, doubling from the previous fiscal year’s comparable period (FY 2020-21).

PMAGY – Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana

An initiative by the Government of India, focused on empowering marginalized communities, endeavors to achieve comprehensive development in selected villages by effectively implementing a combination of relevant Central and State schemes.

Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY)

  • The Government of India initiated the Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAANJHI) in October 2014.
  • The responsibility of developing physical and institutional infrastructure in three villages by 2019 was assigned to each Member of Parliament (MP).
  • The objective was to establish three model villages, termed Adarsh Grams, by March 2019, with the first to be achieved by 2016.
  • Following this, an additional five Adarsh Grams, one annually, were to be selected and developed by 2024.

National Rurban Mission (NRuM)

  • The Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) aims to enhance rural areas by providing economic, social, and physical infrastructure facilities, thus humanizing the effort to uplift rural communities.
  • The mission targets the development of 300 Rurban clusters within the next five years.
  • The National Rurban Mission (NRuM) envisions the development of clusters of villages that uphold the essence of rural community life while incorporating urban facilities, focusing on equity and inclusiveness.
  • The primary objective of the National Rurban Mission (NRuM) is to promote local economic growth, improve basic services, and establish well-planned Rurban clusters.

The National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)

  • The Ministry of Rural Development administers a welfare programme known as the National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP).
  • NSAP is operational in both rural and urban areas across India.
  • It aligns with the Directive Principles of State Policy outlined in the Indian Constitution, aiming to provide various welfare measures.
  • These measures include ensuring adequate livelihood, improving living standards, enhancing public health, and offering free and compulsory education for children.
  • Article 41 of the Constitution mandates the State to provide public assistance to citizens in cases of unemployment, old age, sickness, disablement, and other instances of poverty, within its economic capacity and developmental limits.

Mission Antyodaya

This approach aims to align government interventions with Gram Panchayats, using them as the fundamental planning unit. It emphasizes pooling resources, both human and financial, to achieve sustainable livelihoods through a saturation strategy.

Read Also: MGNREGA Act

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved