Indian National Congress Sessions

First Session: held at Bombay in 1885. President: W.C. Bannerjee Formation of Indian National Congress.

Second Session: held at Calcutta in 1886. President: Dadabhai Naoroji

Indian National Congress Sessions Third Session:-

Third Session: held at Madras in 1887. President: Syed Badruddin Tyabji, the first Muslim President.

Indian National Congress Sessions Fourth Session:-

Fourth Session: held at Allahabad in 1888. President: George Yule, the first English President.

1896: Calcutta. President: Rahimtullah Sayani

National Song ‘Vande Mataram’ was sung for the first time by Rabindranath Tagore.

1899: Lucknow. President: Romesh Chandra Dutt.

Demand for permanent fixation of Land revenue

1901: Calcutta. President: Dinshaw E.Wacha

The first time Gandhiji appeared on the Congress platform

1905: Benaras. President: Gopal Krishan Gokhale

The formal proclamation of the Swadeshi movement against the government

1906: Calcutta. President: Dadabhai Naoroji

Adopted four resolutions on Swaraj (Self Government), Boycott Movement,

Swadeshi & National Education

1907: Surat. President: Rash Bihari Ghosh

Split in Congress- Moderates & Extremist

Adjournment of Session

1910: Allahabad. President: Sir William Wedderburn

M.A Jinnah decried the separate electorate system introduced by the act of 1909

1911: Calcutta. President: B.N. Dhar

First-time recital of Jan-Gan-Man in Congress session

1915: Bombay. President: Sir S.P. Sinha

The Constitution of the Congress was altered to admit the delegates from the extremist section

1916: Lucknow. President: A.C. Majumdar

Unity between two factions-Moderates and Extremists of Congress

Lucknow Pact signed between Congress and Muslim League to build political consensus

1917: Calcutta. President: Annie Besant, First Woman President of Congress

1918 (Special session): Bombay. President: Syed Hasan Imam

The session was convened to deliberate the contentious Montagu–Chelmsford Reforms Scheme

1919: Amritsar. President: Motilal Nehru

Congress extended support to Khilafat Movement

1920 (Special Session): Calcutta. President: Lala Lajpat Rai

Mahatma Gandhi moved the Non-cooperation resolution

1920: Nagpur. President: C. Vijayaraghavachariari

Reconstitution of Working committees of Congress on a Linguistic basis

MA Jinnah left the Indian National Congress

1922: Gaya. President: C.R. Das

CR Das and other leaders broke away from INC

Formation of Swaraj Party

1924: Belgaum. President: M.K. Gandhi

Only Session presided over by Mahatma Gandhi

1925: Kanpur. President: Sarojini Naidu, First Indian Woman President

1927: Madras. President: Dr. M.A. Ansari

Passed a resolution against the use of Indian troops in China, Iran, and Mesopotamia.

Passed a resolution against the boycott of the Simon Commission

Adoption of resolution on Purna Swaraj

1928: Calcutta. President: Motilal Nehru

Formation of All India Youth Congress

1929: Lahore. President: Jawahar Lal Nehru

Passed the resolution on ‘Poorna Swaraj.’

Civil Disobedience movement for complete independence to be launched on 26 January to be observed as ‘Independence Day.

1931: Karachi. President: Vallabhbhai Patel

Resolutions on Fundamental Rights and National Economic Programme

Endorsement of the Gandhi-Irwin pact

Gandhi was nominated to represent INC in the Second Round Table Conference to be held in London

1934: Bombay. President: Rajendra Prasad

Amendment in the Constitution of Congress

1936: Lucknow. President: Jawahar Lal Nehru

Push towards socialist ideas by Jawahar Lal Nehru

1937: Faizpur. President: Jawahar Lal Nehru

First Session is to be held in a village

1938: Haripura. President: Subhas Chandra Bose

National Planning Committee was set up under Jawahar Lal Nehru.

1939: Tripuri. President: Rajendra Prasad

Subhas Chandra Bose was re-elected but had to resign

Rajendra Prasad was appointed in his place

Subhash Chandra Bose formed Forward Bloc

1940: Ramgarh. President: Abul Kalam Azad

Civil Disobedience movement to be launched at appropriate time and circumstances.

1941–45: This Period is marked by events i.e. Quit India movement, RIN Mutiny & INA trials.

A phase of constitutional negotiations such as Cripps Mission, Wavell Plan, and Cabinet Mission.

On account of these events during this phase, no congress session was held.

1946: Meerut. President: J.B Kripalani

Last session before the independence

J.B Kriplani was the president of INC at independence.

READ MORE:-Political Associations in India before the Indian National Congress

UPSC Interview 2023 new program