State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Space Research Centres in India

Space Research Centres and Units are located in several cities across India. They must work hard in order to meet their space objectives......

Space Research Centres and Units are located in several cities across India. They must work hard in order to meet their space objectives.

There are over 45 space research centre in India. Before even forming the first research centre in India, Dr Sarabhai and Dr Ramanathan formed the INCOSPAR (Indian National Committee for Space Research) in 1962. Post the formation of INCOSPAR, ISRO or Indian Space Research Organisation, was formed in 1969. Also, ISRO is regarded as one of the world’s 6 largest space research centres.

Indian Space Research OrganisationBengaluru
Vikram Sarabhai Space Center Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala – Rocket Launching
Satish Dhawan Space Centre Andhra Pradesh – Rocket Launching
Space Applications Centre Ahmedabad (For Remote sensing / Telecommunication)
Master Control Facility Karnataka (for geostationary & geosynchronous satellites)
Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre Kerala & Karnataka
National Remote Sensing Centre Hyderabad
ISRO Telemetry, Tracking & Command Network (ISTRAC)Bangalore
Space Research Centers in India
Indian Space Research Organisation
  • Headquartered at Bengaluru, with main centre as Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota is the primary space agency of India.
  • Major centre to manufacture major Indian satellites.
Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (VSSC)
  • A major space research centre of ISRO, focusing on launching rockets & satellite, located in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.
  • The centre had its beginnings as the Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) in 1962. It was renamed in honour of Dr. Vikram Sarabhai, the father of the Indian space program.
Space Applications Centre (SAC)
  • An institution of research in Ahmedabad, India under the aegis of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).
  • One of the major centres of ISRO, engaged in the research, development, and demonstration of applications of space technology in the field of telecommunication, remote sensing, meteorology, and satellite navigation.
Satish Dhawan Space Centre or Sriharikota Range (SHAR)
  • A rocket launch centre operated by Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), currently the only Spaceport in India
  • ISRO renamed it in 2002 after its former chairman Satish Dhawan. It is located in Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh.
Master Control Facility (MCF)
  • A facility set up by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in Hassan, Karnataka
  • Responsible for monitoring and controlling geostationary and geosynchronous satellites launched by ISRO.
Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC)
  • A research and development centre functioning under Indian Space Research Organisation, has two units located in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, and Bengaluru, Karnataka.
  • ISRO Propulsion Complex at Mahendragiri, Tamil Nadu, augments LPSC.
  • Engaged in development of liquid and cryogenic propulsion stages for launch vehicles and auxiliary propulsion systems for both launch vehicles and satellites
ISRO Inertial System Unit
  • A research and development unit of the Indian Space Research Organisation
  • Located in Thiruvananthapuram that specialises in inertial sensors and systems in satellite technology
National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC)
  • Located at Hyderabad is one of the centres of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)
  • key player in Earth Observation Programme and Disaster Management Support programme.
  • NRSC is responsible for acquisition, processing, supply of aerial and satellite remote sensing data and continuously exploring the practical uses of remote sensing technology for multilevel (global to local) applications.
  • It provides the necessary trained manpower through capacity building in remote sensing applications.
Development and Education Communication Unit (DECU)
  • Located in Ahmedabad, aims to exploit the potential of space technology as an important tool to support education and development efforts in the country (Doordarshan, social science research, Surveys & Policies etc.)
ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC)
  • The Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), over the years, established a comprehensive network of ground stations to provide Telemetry, Tracking and Command (TTC) support to satellite and launch vehicle missions.
  • These facilities are grouped under ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC) with its headquarters at Bangalore, India

Important Points on Space Centres in India:

  • One of the first space centres in India was established in 1962 by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). This organisation is responsible for all aspects of space-related research. ISRO is one of the leading space agencies in the world and has been responsible for many firsts, including launching an Indian spacecraft into orbit around Mars on September 24th 2014.
  • The headquarters for ISRO is located in Bangalore where it was founded by Dr Vikram Sarabhai who was a visionary scientist from Ahmedabad.
  • ISRO actively carries out various aspects of space research, including manufacturing satellites, developing launch vehicles, and tracking them once they have been launched into orbit around Earth or beyond, through its 21 centres spread across India.
  • ISRO is an autonomous body under the Government of India which provides ample support to its activities by providing funds and infrastructure. A number of other government departments and agencies in India, including the Department of Space, Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), and the National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), assist the organization in its endeavors.

Read Also : Inland Waterways In India

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved