State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Important dates of Indian Freedom Struggle

Indian Freedom Struggle

Indian Freedom Struggle: Indian nationalism began to take shape in the late nineteenth century. The rebellion of 1857 marked the conscious beginning of the fight for independence from the British empire’s colonial oppression. The 1857 uprising went by many names, including the Sepoy Mutiny and India’s First War of Independence. Although the revolt of 1857 started as a mutiny, soon it spread all over the country to overthrow the foreign domination. The revolt of 1857 was not successful but it sparked the fire for independence, which ultimately resulted in a series of Indian national movements with the ultimate goal of bringing an end to the British rule in India.

1857 – The First Indian Struggle for Freedom, also known as the 1857 Indian Mutiny, marked the beginning of the end of British East India Company’s rule in India. This historic event led to the British Crown taking over and brought about significant administrative changes in the country.

1885 – The Indian National Congress (INC) was established as a platform for political and social reform, eventually becoming a powerful force in the fight for Indian independence.

1906 – The founding of the All India Muslim League set the stage for the eventual creation of a separate Muslim state in the Indian subcontinent in 1947.

1920 Mahatma Gandhi initiated the Non-Cooperation Movement, a campaign of civil disobedience against British rule. It was, however, called off in 1922 due to violent incidents, notably the Chauri Chaura incident in Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh.

1930 – Mahatma Gandhi led the Salt Satyagraha, a massive campaign of civil disobedience against the British-imposed salt tax. It evolved into a widespread movement, with other workers’, peasants’, and revolutionary movements gaining momentum across India.

1942 – The Quit India Movement, led by Gandhi, was launched as a nationwide campaign of civil disobedience to demand an end to British rule. It quickly spread throughout India, even though Congress leaders were banished and imprisoned.

1945 – Subhas Chandra Bose passed away in a plane crash in Taipei, and the Indian National Army (INA) was defeated by the British Indian Army and other allied forces.

1947 – The Indian Independence Act, passed by the British Parliament, led to the partition of India, resulting in the creation of the independent nations of India and Pakistan.

1948 – Tragically, Mahatma Gandhi was assassinated by a Hindu nationalist. Home Minister Sardar Patel banned the RSS (Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh).

1950 – India adopted its Constitution, establishing the country as a sovereign, socialist, secular, and democratic republic, marking a significant milestone in its history.

Read Also: Climate Change and Agriculture: The Impact of Extreme Weather Events on Global Food Security

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved