State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Commonwealth Countries

The Commonwealth of Nations is a grouping of 56 independent sovereign nations, the majority of which were once British colonies..
What is the Commonwealth of Nations?

The Commonwealth of Nations is a grouping of 56 independent sovereign nations, the majority of which were once British colonies.

In 2022, Gabon and Togo, two African nations, were inducted as the Commonwealth of Nations’ 55th and 56th members, respectively.

When it is formed ?

It was established by the London Declaration in 1949.

Members of the Commonwealth are predominantly located in Africa, Americas, Asia, and the Pacific, the three European members of the group are Cyprus, Malta, and the U.K.

The developed nations of the Commonwealth are Australia, Canada, and New Zealand.

What is the aims of Commonwealth of Nations ?

 Advancement and prosperity are international peace and security, sustainable economic growth and development, and the rule of law.

Republics Republic has a President who is the head of state.
RealmsMonarchies and Dominions have a hereditary monarch as head of state.
 What is the structure of Commonwealth nation?

The Commonwealth consists of both Republics and Realms.

What is Importance of Commonwealth  ?

Indian perspective,- It provides opportunities to reach out to small states that constitute around 60% of Commonwealth members.

  • For India, it gives an excellent chance to give shape to a model of global cooperation and partnership different from that of China.

India has no diplomatic presence, and establishing relations with these nations might aid India secure crucial votes during UN or multilateral contests it may be involved in.

Geo-political scale- The Commonwealth of Nations remains to be an impressive show of the force of a peaceful partnership.

Wider network of nations – Apart from the UN, which provides an opportunity for smaller nations to have their voices heard and make their projects and issues known.

Good platform for development aid, democratic values, and educational opportunities, but its significance is not likely to rise unless it adopts a more egalitarian and inclusive stance to its next generation of Commonwealth citizens.

List of Commonwealth Countries-
AfricaCaribbean and Americas
Botswana, Cameroon, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kingdom of Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, ZambiaAntigua and Barbuda T,he Bahamas, Belize,Canada ,Dominica ,Grenada Guyana, Jamaica Sain,t Lucia St Kitts and Nevis St Vincent and the Grenadines Trinidad and Tobago
Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives,Pakistan, Singapore, Sri LankaAustralia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua, New Guinea ,Samoa ,Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom
 Relation of India with Commonwealth ?

India has been involved in every major part of the Commonwealth network of institutions, and it is one of its top sources of funds, experts, and training.

 It also accounts for a large share of trade among the member states.

 In the 2015–2016 fiscal year, India was the fourth-largest contributor to the Commonwealth’s budget and the third-largest funder of its joint office at the United Nations in New York.

India is the third largest contributor to the Commonwealth Youth Program’s (CYP) budget.

Read more: Dishonestly’ And ‘Fraudulently

Commonwealth countries,Commonwealth countries

Recent Posts

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved