Edit Template

Three Padma Awards different from each other?

President DroupadiMurmu confers 54 Padma Awards for the year 2023.

Context: –  Three Padma Awards Recently, President DroupadiMurmu confers 54 Padma Awards for the year 2023.

About Padma Awards: –

  • The Padma Award are one of the highest civilian honours of India.
  • Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954.
  • It is announced every year on

the occasion of Republic Day except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997.

  • It is announced annually on the eve of Republic Day.
  • The Awards are given in three categories:-
    • Padma Vibhushan: for exceptional and distinguished service
    • Padma Bhushan: distinguished service of higher order
    • Padma Shri: distinguished service.
  • The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
  • The Padma Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
  • The nomination process is open to the public.
  • Even self-nomination can be made.

Historical Background:

  • The Government of India instituted two civilian awards-Bharat Ratna& Padma Vibhushan in
  • The latter had three classes namely PahelaVarg, DusraVarg and TisraVarg.
  • These were subsequently renamed Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri in 1955.
  • Eligibility:-
    • All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.
    • Government servants including those working with PSUs, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for these Awards.
  • The award seeks to recognize works of distinction and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields of activities/disciplines: –
    • Art: includes Music, Painting, Sculpture, Photography, Cinema, Theatre etc.
    • Social work: includes social service, charitable service, contribution to community projects etc.
    • Public Affairs: includes Law, Public Life, Politics etc.
    • Science & Engineering: includes Space Engineering, Nuclear Science, Information Technology, Research & Development in Science & its allied subjects etc.
    • Trade & Industry: includes Banking, Economic Activities, Management, Promotion of Tourism, Business etc.
    • Medicine: includes medical research, distinction/specialization in Ayurveda, Homeopathy, Siddha, Allopathy, Naturopathy etc.
    • Literature & Education: includes Journalism, Teaching, Book composing, Literature, Poetry, Promotion of education, Promotion of literacy, Education Reforms etc.
    • Civil Service: includes distinction/excellence in administration etc. by Government Servants
    • Sports: includes popular Sports, Athletics, Adventure, Mountaineering, promotion of sports, Yoga etc.
    • Others: fields not covered above and may include propagation of Indian Culture, protection of Human Rights, Wild Life protection/conservation etc.
  • The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously.
  • The awards are presented by the President of India usually in the month of March/April every year.
  • The awardees are presented a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.
  • The recipients are also given a small replica of the medallion, which they can wear during any ceremonial/State functions etc.
  • The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/OCIs) should not be more than 120.
  • The award does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees’ name.

Selection Process: –

  • All nominations received for Padma Awards are placed before the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
  • The Padma Awards Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary.
  • It includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members.
  • The recommendations of the committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the Presidentof India for approval.


  • Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in the country.
  • It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavor.
  • The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President of India.
  • No formal recommendations for Bharat Ratna are necessary.
  • The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year.
  • The government has conferred Bharat Ratna Award on 45 persons to date.

Recent Posts

Tap For Tech

Serious Aspirants

More Links
What's New
UPSC Study Material

Related Posts


IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.

Read more

Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved