State PCS

Edit Template
Edit Template

Ramon Magsaysay Award

Dalai Lama personally received the 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award from members of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation at his residence.

Context: Dalai Lama personally received the 1959 Ramon Magsaysay Award from members of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation at his residence.

An Overview of the News

  • President of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation,Susanna B. Affan, along with Foundation TrusteeEmily A. Abrera, presented the award to the Dalai Lama.
  • The awards was given in August 1959 by the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation in the Philippines.
  • The Dalai Lama’s elder brother GyaloThonden accepted the Magsaysay Award on his behalf in August 1959 in Manila, Philippines.
  • Since his exile from Tibet in 1959, the Dalai Lama has been living in India.

Dalai Lama:

  • He is the spiritual leader of the Tibetan people and is considered one of the most important figures in Tibetan Buddhism.
  • The title “Dalai Lama” is a combination of the Mongolian word “Dalai,” meaning ocean, and the Tibetan word “lama,” meaning master, teacher, or mentor.
  • The Dalai Lama is believed to be an incarnation of Avalokiteshvara, the bodhisattva of compassion.
  • The current 14th Dalai Lama is Tenzin Gyatso, who was born in Tibet in 1935.
  • He was recognized as the Dalai Lama at the age of two and was enthroned in 1950.
  • In 1959, he had been living in exile in India since a failed rebellion against Chinese rule.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award

  • It is an annual award that recognizes individuals and organisations in Asia for exceptional courage, integrity and service to their communities.
  • The awards was established in 1957 and is named after the late Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay.
  • The award is given in six categories: government service, public service, community leadership, journalism, creative arts, and peace and international understanding.
  • The award has recognized individuals and organisations from various fields and is known as the “Nobel Prize of Asia”

Read also: Madrid Protocol

Demo Class/Enquiries

blog form

More Links
What's New
IAS NEXT is a topmost Coaching Institute offering guidance for Civil & Judicial services like UPSC, State PCS, PCS-J exams since more than 10 years.
Contact Us
Social Icon

Copyright ©  C S NEXT EDUCATION. All Rights Reserved